My Journey into Becoming a Writer

One day long ago, when I was about 8 or 9 years old, my older sister asked me a very significant question that I was to remember years later in adulthood. We had been chatting together as a family with other siblings and the topic was ‘what I would like to be when I grow up’. When it came to my turn, my sister looked down at my pint-sized self and asked me that question. I simply blurted out what was in my heart at that point – I will become a writer! I had no idea what it took to be one or how one became a writer but the conviction in my spirit was so strong, I knew that was my destiny.

The above is an excerpt from My Writing Journey posted on CLC Kenya’s website for African Christian Authors. I shared this to show how becoming a published Christian writer/an author is not an overnight achievement; it is a step by step journey with God holding your hand all through. I hope you can make time to read the short write-up and leave a comment afterwards or share the link to your networks.

 I am so grateful to God for helping me to pen my first novel, Bonds Borne of Adversity, and get it nominated for the African Christian Authors Book Award (ACABA), in the Christian Fiction category. For me, this is not just a personal achievement but it is also a ‘door-opener’ for other writers in the same genre to step out and show what gift God has given them. I hope that more African Christian writers will step up to the plate when they see this.

Bonds Borne of Adversity is a novel based on family life and relationships, with emphasis on the role of prayer in family life. We need to incorporate more prayer into family life, especially praying with children, not just praying for them.

As a nominated author, I only have one request for you – kindly post a comment on my page, EDNA ALUOCH, that will helptowards earning more points for the Award. Remember that supporting me today means that I will support you tomorrow.  Thank you!

Leave a comment